Buckwheat (Fagopyrum esculentum)

Buckwheat

Part Used

Sprouted Seeds/Beans

Country of Origin

United States

What is Buckwheat for?

Despite its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat and is thus gluten-free. Instead it is a seed that comes from the plant Fagopyrum esculentum. It belongs to a group of foods commonly called pseudocereals. They are rich in protein and fiber, as well as a variety of antioxidants and other nutrients, which leads many people to consider buckwheat a superfood.

Traditional Health Benefits of Buckwheat

  • Improves heart health

  • Reduces blood sugar

  • Antioxidant support

  • Enhances vitamin activity

  • Improves digestion

  • Boosts the immune system

Allergens

  • Artificial Coloring Free

  • Artificial Flavoring Free

  • GMO Free

  • Sugar Free

  • Soy Free

  • Yeast Free

  • Dairy Free

  • Corn Free
  • Gluten Free

  • Wheat Free

  • Nut Free

  • MSG Free

  • Egg Free

  • Fish Free

  • Peanut Free

  • Shellfish Free

  • Kosher

  • Organic

Disclaimer

This information in our Ingredient Reference Guide is intended only as a general reference for further exploration and is not a replacement for professional health advice. This content does not provide dosage information, format recommendations, toxicity levels, or possible interactions with prescription drugs. Accordingly, this information should be used only under the direct supervision of a qualified health practitioner such as a naturopathic physician.

Products featuring Buckwheat

More Ingredients to Discover

Our Herbal Reference Guide lets you enhance your relationship with herbs by

 giving you a comprehensive profile of each plant.